Dragon's FireDragon’s Fire by Anne McCaffrey

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Would this book get a higher rating from me had I not solely listened to Dick Hill read it? Could it have been better with text-to-speech? I think so. I just don’t like how this narrator interprets females or the young males. They all sound weak and whiny. I don’t mind his deep sonorous voice for the Masterharper, or even for just descriptive parts of the book. But mostly I don’t like his acting.

This is the first book in a long time that I didn’t have the hardback book to help me along. I had to just listen. That was sheer torture to this ADD mind. To be stuck under the headset for so long nearly drove me mad… there are those that think I already arrived, but that’s another story!

As for THIS story, I do think it is the weakest so far. I’m a little afraid to state that per above remarks, but there was quite a lot of time that there was just NOTHING going on. I read these books to be flying with dragons or their kin, but there seemed to be very little of that and a whole lot of bad guys and bad decisions that had nothing to do with impressing or flying.

Luckily, this was a library CD and I don’t have to worry about whether I should buy the book. Nope. I have a lot of the books in this collection, but I see no reason to get this one.

Still, good try, Todd. I still miss your mom. RIP, Anne.

View all my reviews

