DragonseyeDragonseye by Anne McCaffrey

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Could it be that an unexpected vacation and the possibility of moving in the next few months, flavored this read for me? Or could it be because Dick Hill narrated. I really don’t like his interpretations of these books. Well, whatever it was, I have come away from this book thinking it is probably the worst of all the Pern books. It was quite boring, full of discussions, arguments, whining. Very little flying with dragons or finding new discoveries on this planet.

This book does have a bit of a story in how it came to me. I found the CDs at the library and so I borrowed it with the others I recently read. But I found I didn’t have the hardback at home. I found an inexpensive version on Amazon so picked it up. Ah, but when it came I found it wasn’t any more than a hard backed version of a paperback. So the print was unbearably small. And then as I started to read, I realized that I already had the Audible version and so was able to return the CDs. So mostly I listened to the story as I couldn’t read it very well. It seemed to take forever to get through with it.

As usual, when I have trouble with a book, I like to make sure I don’t flavor anyone else’s experience. Try it. You may very well like it. I hope you do.

View all my reviews

