Seized: The Pipe Woman ChroniclesSeized: The Pipe Woman Chronicles by Lynne Cantwell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Well, can you tell it is NaNoWriMo time? Here, yet again, is something that isn’t me working on my novel. Yeah, let’s read and review someone else’s novel while we figure out how to write again.

Basically, this has been by bedtime book. I’ve been reading it in the Omnibus but decided that I need to review each book separately and will review the whole series when finished with the Omnibus.

In this first book, Seized, we learn about the main character, Naomi, her life as a mediator, her handsome fiancΓ©, and her sudden being taken over by a goddess, White Buffalo Calf Pipe Woman, during a sweat bath with her “Woo woo” (translation: New Age) best friend, Shannon. I believe peyote was involved. But soon Naomi and friends are sent out on a quest to save the world. Yeah, a lot to put on one person and her friends.

There is a lot of old-world Pagan/Norse mythology, a couple Native American tribal religions and the Judeo/Christian theologies. Thought-provoking fiction to say the least.

There are scenes of action and moments of philosophy. But best of all, for a first book in the series, no cliff-hangers.

This book is free on Amazon. Well worth the price! I am well into book two so I am trying to remember book one. I hate it when I do that. Let’s blame NaNo, shall we? Enjoy!

View all my reviews

