Siren SpellSiren Spell by Cidney Swanson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cidney Swanson has done it again! If you aren’t a fan of hers by the time you read the Rippler series or the Saving Mars series, I don’t know what to say. She definitely made it into my favorite authors category by those two series. But this one book stands alone. I don’t think it’s going to be a series. It could be I liked the characters enough. But the ending was too satisfying to need to know more.

Not long ago I read an illustrated children’s book about mermaids. So I was still in the mood to read more about mermaids.This book did not disappoint me. But it wasn’t just about mermaids. It was about family, ballet, Russian immigrants, living with a single mom and a grandmother. It was about two sisters who were teenagers, who are somewhat typical as teens. It is always difficult being a teenager and it is always difficult to have a teenager. Teens need to become their own person and feel the parents are in the way. Parents just tried to guide their children as they always have. And so it is in this book. What I liked about how Cidney Swanson does it, is there seems to be no judgment from the author about either of those parts of a family. And there wasn’t a lot of angsty, teenage romance happening. The adolescent sisters seem to have a bit of common sense in their choosing of friends and boys. It felt more natural to me than a lot of these young adult books do.

It was fun too to notice that this book takes place in Oregon. Is it because I live here now that I notice It more?

If you’re looking for a little bit of fun check out Siren Spell. I loved it!

View all my reviews

