Hope's Journey to Recovery from Schizophrenia.Hope’s Journey to Recovery from Schizophrenia. by Stacey Nyongesa

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I recently found out that a good friend of mine has been diagnosed with schizophrenia and seems to be getting worse. With little knowledge of this disorder, I didn’t feel I could be of much help. But meanwhile, I am willing to read what I can so that should the day arise, I might have some knowledge to speak with.

This was a good book to start with. Though the author is in Nairobi Kenya, her story reflects what it must be like for anyone anywhere with this mental issue hanging over them.

I must admit that a decade ago I had a breakdown and was diagnosed with depression. The doctor was very strong about my getting disability insurance and so sent me to his personal lawyer to get that started. Since then I have had a unique drive to learn more about the brain and it’s disorders. I’ve taken psychology classes and try to read a lot. Of course, the disorder I have read most about is depression and its close relative the bipolar diagnosis.

Thank you, Stacey Nyongesa for sharing your story. May you continue in good health.

View all my reviews

