Once Darkness Falls (Preternatural Affairs, #7)Once Darkness Falls by S.M. Reine

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow! Guess who moved out of Reno just in time!!!! This may my most favorite thing that Sara Reine does, she shakes up a city, and at times totally ruins it! Reno and its surrounding areas are toast! Don’t worry. It’s all fiction. But it is fun to see landmarks and downtown areas in the novels I read. “I’ve been there!” and other feelings of déjà vu happen throughout Ms. Reine’s books whether it is Los Angeles or other well know cities. I like that!

While S.M. Reine is one of my favorite authors, the stories about César are not my favorites. They are okay and full of good humor among the nail-biting tensions that this character has to deal with. Even so, I read these stories to stay in the overall series. Sara often brings in characters from other parts of the series-es(?)

I think that Ms. Reine makes plausible male main characters. Much better than the male authors do with writing females, in my opinion. But then, I’m not male so how could I tell for sure?

In this book, we get to see Elise once more. Other names of others in other parts of the overall series show up.

This is book 7 and though it doesn’t end in a cliff-hanger (there is a moment of quiet) I can’t wait to see what is coming up next for Reno and César.

View all my reviews

