Misconceptions (It's Complicated)Misconceptions by Erika Land

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Drama. The kind of drama I hate. Drama wrought from jealousy and suspicion. I can’t tell you how often I thought about putting this book down and moving on to another more interesting book. But I was curious to see why the secondary character acted so pitifully ambivalent.

But knowing why brought even more questions. Why, if all that bad stuff happened, could she go to therapy and group sessions and still not tell her partner? Why was she so mean?

This book also had one or more African American lesbians in it. What I found sad was that I just didn’t feel those characteristics were brought up until about halfway through the book. It wasn’t a bad thing. It was just that I assumed we had two characters who were thin, white, and beautiful as most authors think we want to read about. But I, for one, would love to read of ordinary people. People of different colors, different ages. Heck, I spent most of my 66 years reading about the adventures of men. Now that I am reading of diverse women I’d like that pointed out right up front. Kudos for diversity!

But this was a story of what happens when people don’t communicate and let their suspicions and bad emotions lead their lives. I don’t like to be around those kinds of people. I don’t need that kind of drama.

Oh, and another bad thing: cliffhanger. Grrrr! For the jealousy and the cliffhanger I should rate this one star. But for the attempt at diversity and the honest idea that a person can love more than one person at a time (mothers love more than one child!) and for different reasons. But one doesn’t need to be dishonest in it. Communication was what the characters needed to do and to listen to each other.

I can’t decide if I am interested in the next book as I can see more of the emotions reflected in that bonus chapter, just a different character.

View all my reviews

