The Last OneThe Last One by Alexandra Oliva

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Disclosure: I was gifted this book by NetGalley for an honest review.

WHAT IF… You were a contestant on a reality survival show and while you were busy learning to survive somewhere away from civilization the general population got sick and most of them died? That is the premise of the story. And the story is told from different points of view. The first is from the makers of the program. Then we see what is happening on the show and behind the scenes of the show, Then we get the comments from the show’s website. And of course, we see it from the main character eyes. All points of view deepen the reader’s experience.

I hated putting this book down. The suspense kept me going. What was going to happen next. What if’s popped up in my head and kept me wishing I could speed-read to learn what happens next. Some would call this a psychological thriller, but I don’t this that’s true. Murder mysteries with the psychopath working his own end, that to me is psychological thriller. This is suspenseful, though, and it messes with your mind as you try to understand what is real. We all know reality show aren’t. But the author lays down a fine line and blurs it for all but her own purposes.

Ms. Alexandra Oliva, also, develops believable characters even though the names I remember are Zoo and Tracker. The intrigue is trying to see how it all will fit together and hoping it will all work out.

If you are looking for a book about survival, similar to Wild but not, this is for you! I loved this book and hope to see it made into a movie! And I’d love to see what happens next. No, no cliffhanger, no indicators that it even needs a part two. But I’d love to see how many people we can find and what their stories were. Please pick up this book. I think you will enjoy it!

View all my reviews

