Spare Change (Wyattsville, #1)Spare Change by Bette Lee Crosby

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally, I understand! I have read other books by Bette Lee Crosby but sorely out of order. Not that the books were bad having read them that way, but there were holes of understanding that I couldn’t quite grasp. This book is the first of the series Wyattsville whose characters show up in another series Memory House. Now to fill in those holes better I will try to read both sets in order.

The cover gets to me every time I look at it. And that is the spirit you feel for one of the main characters in the book. Poor kid. But the adults in this book are equally downtrodden and you grow to love a few of them while growing animosity for others.

These books almost seem to be collections of characters and their development. Except they are developing at the same time and living their own lives. Sometimes life crosses their paths and unites people who might not have gotten together. That is what makes these stories believable.

What Ms. Crosby brings out best is how love, expected or not can mend hearts and save lives. I can’t wait to read the rest of these… in order.

View all my reviews

