Home WorldHome World by Bonnie Milani

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Okay, I like the cover. But it is sci-fi only on Earth. Sure Hawaii is beautiful but we have a whole universe folks!

Other than that. Well. Maybe I should start out with the usual disclaimer: I got this book for free from NetGalley.com for my honest review. Thanks?

I can’t tell you how often I nearly stopped reading this book. It is SO not the kind of sci-fi that I like. Not only is it more spy vs. spy it is all about war. And though it seems the author is female her story was male-heavy and misogynistic. One female lead is the lust interest of two males. One is the computer nerd who becomes the evil antagonist. This sci-fi wasn’t about the wonders of new inventions or new discoveries, it is about all those things gone wrong. Meanwhile, hate and misunderstandings take over the universe.

Let’s throw in werewolves. Yeah, that’ll sell.

Oh, if you have been to Hawaii and were there long enough to pick up some of the lingo this might be a thrill. For the contiguous USA (except a too short cruise in Alaska) reader who needs text-to-speech to help them out, this is the worst. I had to stop and go back and see what that meant. Most of the time there were no explanations as to what was said and what it meant, making this an even harder read with not enough rewards for working through it.

It usually doesn’t take me this long to read a book but I just couldn’t stay interested in it long enough. I even was at the 97% point where one would be drawn to finish but I just put it aside and waited until I had another moment to read. I think part of this was that people died, but didn’t stay dead, and fake people running around, it hurt my brain trying to figure out what is real. It seemed the author didn’t make it clear enough when the dead come back to life how that happened. It seemed she just wanted to make battles and war and shooting scenes. Ugh!

Now my usual line when I write a review of something I didn’t like: Just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean it isn’t good. I see a lot of good reviews for this book. There are even some wanting to see it made into a movie. From someone not excited to go see the male-heavy Star Wars movie (WAR is in the name, by the way–no wonder space travel isn’t happening as soon as many of us had wanted) this may be right up your alley.

View all my reviews

