Where the Carnies AreWhere the Carnies Are by Kayla Curry

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book came to me as part of a giveaway from another author, Becca Campbell. Thank you!

Different. That is my favorite type of fantasy. It can’t be like all the others. This one fills the bill. The best part is that it is a book about a young woman who isn’t a teen, who grows to be a very strong person very quickly. Wow, I just had to delete a bunch of sentences that became big spoilers. Needless to say, this story is about Olive who stumbles into a life of carnies. But this isn’t Water for Elephants. This is more … well, see there? I can’t compare it to anything else I’ve read.

I would have loved to have read this as a young adult or even new adult. There are no gratuitous sex scenes. There is a lot of adventure and growing characters. It is a fast read and I couldn’t pull away. I wanted to see what happens next.

I think there may be a sequel, I hope so. I like the world and the characters Kayla Curry invented. But no cliffhanger here. Nice ending, just sad to see the story end.

View all my reviews

