Freedom: My Book of FirstsFreedom: My Book of Firsts by Jaycee Dugard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t do this often. But when Jaycee was on her book tour on the talk shows I knew I wanted to read her new book. I like reading inspiring books about real people.

Jaycee Dugard has been through hell and back. But she is always upbeat and seems to have her head screwed on right. Her book is about her life since getting home. Whereas her first book was more about the kidnapping and how it affected her, this one is about FREEDOM. It makes the reader see things from a new light. The things we take for granted are things she gets excited about, like her horses and dogs and cats.

I was lucky to be able to pick up the Audible version as I had a credit screaming at me to get something. So I got to hear the book in her voice. I think that helped a lot. You could hear the emotions along the way.

My biggest problem with the book/audio combo is that you end up not seeing the pictures. Had I not messed up and accidently moved the progress bar ahead, I wouldn’t have even known about that. I did love seeing the joy of Jaycee in these pictures. I don’t know how I would fix that. Maybe put all the pictures in the back of the book on the Kindle version? Maybe put links to the names mentioned to tap on to go to the picture and back? I don’t know. I’m just glad I had the chance to see these. And I’m glad I had the chance to read this sweet book. I wish Jaycee and her daughters and mother all the happiness this world has to offer!

View all my reviews

