jjj-20173

The Just Jot It January 15th prompt brought to you by BarbCT of Gallimaufry,  is “Mercy.”  Use it any way you’re inspired to. And make sure you stop by and say hi to BarbCT as well! Here’s her blog: https://barbct.wordpress.com/.

And thank you to Linda G Hill for hosting this fun project and Shan for helping out.

Mercy

Since I just finished my review for Say Goodbye for Now, I am reminded that the author, Catherine Ryan Hyde who also wrote:pay-it-forward

and set up a foundation with those philosophies to pay our mercies forward. I so love that idea.

Christmas and birthdays bring up times that put us on the balancing act. So often we try to pay gift for gift translated to price for price. If we are the ones on the lower end, our present isn’t nearly as pricey or good as what was gifted to us we can feel horrible. When you have lived your life financially insecure most of those gift-giving opportunities leave you feeling sad.

This year I felt a lot better about my position. With donated yarn, I have been busy since last spring making hats and comfort items for the homeless or hospital patients. Every moment I can I am knitting or crocheting. Most of the time it is for the charity but every now and then I get to make something for my family, friends or even myself. I no longer feel guilty if the gifts for loved ones don’t get to them on or near the holiday. They all know what I am doing and feel, in some tiny way they are a part of the gift that goes elsewhere.

There are other niceties that happen to a person where a person just feels grateful but at a loss as to what to do in return. For example, the kind person that lets your car into the lane rather than make it impossible to proceed. Of course, you can’t return that favor to that person, except for maybe just a wave of thanks. But you can watch for opportunities to lets others go before you, open the door for someone.

Living a life of kindness, showing mercy when you can, has rewards of feeling good about yourself and the planet. When you are treated with goodness be thankful. And let it become a part of your being. It is playing the karma game for good.

