Archive for February 3, 2017


Ugh! Weather!


Just to make a blog about it–I’m not blogging today. The weather is hurting me. I’m going to curl up in that corner over there—–> and sleep and knit until I feel better. That’llΒ bring me to Stream of Consciousness Saturday. I expect a deluge!

Day 1 without prompt. Thank goodness this one comes built-in. Get ready for a meandering.

groundhogs-day

I love GHD. I love the movie, too. But it is similar to Christmas and Easter and St. Patrick’s day. It is for the fun. The facts are that little rodent can’t tell us if Spring will come early or not. Not by looking at a shadow. The only way it can see it’s shadow if the sun is shining. So how would a sunny day predict more winter?

Here we had snow, again. That seems more of a predictor. But back to the groundhog. A way it could be right is how thick the fur is. If it were shedding we might know that milder weather was coming.

That aside. I love the movie and the possibilities it presents. What if we had a day that repeated? Maybe most of us wouldn’t have so far to go from our current selves to a more refined and loving person. Still, I do think we might go through that suicidal stage. When Phil starts out he’s an egotistical mess. But for most of us the boredom of doing the same things over and over. Oh, wait! Isn’t that how it is for most of us in the work-a-day world when we are not in love with our jobs?

What I find even more exciting, though, is when Phil discovers that with all this time he could use what he learns to enhance his life and soon enhance the lives of others. Now I realize that we don’t have the opportunity to find the money to take daily piano lessons or French lessons, we can use our time to learn what we can when we can. It is more difficult when we are working and so tired at the end of the day. But if we try we can find a moment here or there to do those things we have curiosity or passion for.

Oh, and the chances Phil had to forgive others and earn forgiveness for himself is so touching. Seeking to find ways to save lives and others’ feelings. It was finally something he could get to seeing the same things every day. But I believe those moments are there for us.

I am lucky to finally be at the point in my life where there is time to think and do things I wished I could have had when I had more energy and less pain. Having the chance to take German and Spanish (Duolingo) on a daily basis, a chance to give back to society by making hats and other things, are some of the Phil things I can do now. When warmer weather gets here walking or playing the piano (that room is TOO cold right now) will be added to my regiment. Wouldn’t it be cool to die knowing I did the best with my brain and body? What if my last words were in Spanish or German? True others around me might not know what I am saying, but I would know I made my brain last until the last moment. There was a woman in the home my dad was in that was a concert pianist. No. I will never be at that level. But wouldn’t it be cool to be the old lady that can play for others? Wouldn’t it be great to end our day with love that we gave away to others everyday knowing our lives counted for something?

Happy Groundhog’s Day–even tomorrow!

ALYAZYA

A little something for you.

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

The Sailboat Tara

A sailboat, a couple, and their little dog too.

Vasa and Ypres

They're British. They're Fabulous. They're Almost Humorous.

MaBeautility

Inner beauty and outer beauty!

Howlin Books

A bookish blog

Memoir Of A Writer

perfecting language on paper

Nathan Wood Consulting

Optimising sports performance

craftinginvermont's Blog

The Adventures of a Vermont Crafter

Scott B Harris - The Injured Brain

Living with an Injured Brain every day

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.πŸ˜ŽπŸ“πŸπŸ‡πŸ‘πŸπŸ‰πŸˆπŸπŸŠπŸ‹πŸ…πŸŽπŸŒπŸ πŸ’πŸ₯

Diary of Difference

A diary of a weird girl full of creativity and wittiness.

The Shy Artist

Helping Artists Get the Words Out

The Essence Within

Glorious both in spirit and in the letter

thedroidyourelookingfor.wordpress.com/

Come for the stick figures. Stay for the Bergman.

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

Pure Glory

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims His handiwork. Psalms 19:1

