Dear young people,

You might hear a lot of ugly things today, and in the next few days. From adults, mainly. The people we expect you to listen to at home, at school, when you need advice. The people who are meant to guide you towards a better understanding of the world.

tumblr_n7ue18hIAN1r9zeo4o3_500

Here are some of things I’ve heard people saying:

Time travel is only for men.

Adventures are only for men.

I won’t watch a show with a girl lead.

If you’ve always been a boy, you can’t suddenly discover you’re a girl after all.

You’re spoiling it, being here. You’re taking something from us, by being here. This is ours, not yours.

And I think – I hope – for some of you this might be the very first time you hear anything like those. I think – I hope – that you all know that girls and…

View original post 573 more words

