socsbadge2016-17

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is brought to us by Linda G Hill. The prompt today is march to be used in any way.

 

20170320_233611

 

Harness–check

Vest–check

Leash–check

Crocs–check

Sweatshirt–check

Windbreaker–check

Treats–check

Oops–Sunglasses–went back–check

Forgot GLASSES!

Forgot CELLPHONE!

Forgot Water!

I didn’t realize I forgot those last three until a mile in. We just marched on. Kali quite proud to get to lead the way. We both wimped a little at the corner house with the three barking dogs. Kept a short leash and only a few whines and “Sh’s” but once past I let her lead the way. She knew where she was going and remembered her favorite marked spots.

When we got to the next big street she decided to turn. We hadn’t gone down that dirt street before so it was an adventure for both of us.

20170325_144723

See that haybarn? That’s where we were at this point. WAY OVER THERE!

 

I was worried that we would meet up with loose dogs. In fact, I thought I saw one ahead. That’s when I realized I only had on sunglasses. Got closer and realized it was a Jack Rabbit. Duh! Now Kali was aware! We have great things to chase here! I told her we don’t chase them, they are bigger than she is!

images

Seeing the rabbit seemed to give Kali a boost. She gave off a more confident air and marched with her head raised. Even though we were the next official street over we could see the back of our house. That’s when I noticed I didn’t have my cell with me. I kind of wanted to call and tell Hubby to look out the window to wave, but alas!

download (1)

 

We got to the next street sign. I couldn’t read it until on top of it. Then I saw that the sign had worn out so that only a bit of the word showed up. But in the faded background, I saw the whole name. I knew this street went straight through to my own. I also knew it connected close to a house with a loose dog. Gulp.

What I didn’t know was there are two homes between where we were and where we needed to go. Gulp number two. What if there were other loose dogs?

Safely by the two nice homes with nice little fences and no barking dogs, we got to the corner of our street. Now my biggest fear: DOG HOUSE! Luckily said dog didn’t come out to either greet me as has been in my experience in pre-Kali days, nor was that dog sitting outside. We got past that house with a bit of a ‘whew’ when from across the street we heard barking. I pulled the leash close and said, “Heel!” Kali stayed close. Dog didn’t come out. We were safe. I call that house (across from ‘dog house’) Statue House because there is a statue of a frontier guy in that yard. I don’t know the people of either house but I like their unique yards.

Now safe I told Kali to take us HOME. She smelled her marked spots and led us straight here. I pulled out a treat. She smelled it but didn’t take it. She just Marched to the back porch and into the house. As soon as I took off her walking garb I offered her the treat again and she took it to her bed and enjoyed the heck out of it.

Though a little tired, I marched into my room proudly to see if I couldn’t figure out how far we went. Are you ready for this? 2.3 miles! Yay! I know. It isn’t like those 6-8 mile trips we took last year but I am still alive after this walk. Those walks KILLED me. I think if I work up to it I will find those walks more fun. Especially with Kali!

20170325_142744

She’s pooped!

An hour later?

20170325_144858

Me:  Wanna go for a walk?

Her:  Again? Nah, that ‘s okay you go ahead. I’ll wait right here. Yawn!