Balance

Not long ago I took Kali out first thing in the morning. One step out onto the porch and my feet were in the air and my shoulders hit the door threshold. There was ice on the porch landing that was invisible. I don’t think I was seriously hurt. Though the tailbone is even madder at me than it was before. I’m beginning to think that my chair yoga isn’t getting better due to that slip.

It is easy to lose our balance. It is something we strive for. But I wonder if it is even possible to have. Or if we have a slanted view of what balance should be. Though nature gives us a semblance of balance nothing really is. Not even our own faces are balanced. So have we mistaken what we should aim for?

When I am drawing I find it hard if the left eye is higher than the right or the corners of the mouth don’t line up properly. And for that reason, I have a hard time appreciating Piccaso’s modern art. But maybe he had something trying not to balance.

Had I been thinking of balance maybe I wouldn’t have fallen? I don’t know. As it was my hands did a good job grabbing at the door handle and the rail. It could have been way worse had the automatic reflex not kicked in. I was pretty amazed at that reflex. Have you ever tried to think through something like that?

I’m sorry. I’m meandering. All I wanted was to throw a little balance into this blog.

I know! I have shared plenty of pics of Kali and Rosey but the only good one of Teddy was one I share when we first moved here. I just cropped it and found an interesting balance between Teddy’s sweet self and the scenery. Did I ever tell you that Teddy used to love me best and I felt so very connected to him? He knew where to situate on me to purr away my pains. When Kali came he seemed to divorce himself from me. It has taken a year for that little guy to finally decide I am worth his trouble. Now I wake in the morning with three furries taking up my bed. All making sure I can’t move. Wish I could levitate those mornings so I wouldn’t have to disturb these loves.

Who cares about balance when there is this face in the world.

Once again, thank you, Linda, for Jotting fun. And JP for tossing my balance! 🙂